Skip to Content

Home Care
Reviews

What People Are Saying

Hear from FirstLight clients, families and caregivers about how we’ve made a difference in their lives. If you’ve had a positive experience with our company, help others make informed decisions about home care by leaving a review.

FirstLight Home Care of Bergen County IconFirstLight Home Care of Bergen County

201 Rock Road #116a, Glen Rock

4.6 42 reviews

  • Avatar

    Kristen Lee
    ★★★★★
    a month ago

    Our First Light care giver is simply the best! She understands beyond the medical what my parents need. She assists them with grace and allows them to keep their dignity. The office staff and nurse at First Light is also a pleasure to … More speak with. They are always available and our family truly has peace of mind.
  • Avatar

    Barbara Valentine
    ★★★★★
    5 months ago

    My family and I want to highly recommend the care services of First Light Home Care of Glen Rock. Our care provider was kind and compassionate and was able to form a friendly, warm relationship with Mom that was so comforting to our family. … More Our mother enjoyed the visits which included playing Mom's favorite card game, singing Mom's favorite songs, and making phone calls to stay connected to members of our family. Our family truly appreciates Boyd and Sara Lowry for the excellent and professional services that they provided for our mother. We strongly recommend First Light Home Care of Glen Rock to provide care for the needs of your loved ones.
  • Avatar

    Geraldine Lettieri Howard
    ★★★★★
    a month ago

    Byod is wonderful, He is very attentive and listened to all our needs. Service at FirstLight Home Care was first rate. Additionally he is working very hard to increase senior services and activities in Glen Rock. His work in the … More community is much appreciated.
  • Avatar

    John M. Blumers
    ★★★★★
    a month ago

    I turned to Boyd Lowry when my mom was suddenly in need of home healthcare. Although she lives just outside of FirstLight's service area, he took the time to walk me through the various options for Mom and coached me up on what to … More look for in a home health care service provider. I feel better informed and better equipped to take the next steps and am grateful to him for his time and advice. My only regret is that Mom lives just a little too far away to take advantage of FirstLight's services.
  • Avatar

    jean papsun
    ★★★★★
    a month ago

    Caregivers are wonderful, warm receptive always helpful. Wanda, is more than capable. We also love Millie who has her own special style of care that makes are live much easier. Nellie talks and shares in a pleasent way. You can tell … More they are all well trained and experienced as well. Thank you Firsltight.
  • Avatar

    Sara Lowry
    ★★★★★
    2 months ago

    First Light Home Care and their caregivers have been and continue to be a wonderful match for my mom who suffers from dementia. From office support and nursing visits to the kind caregivers, I know I have the right support and care on … More this difficult journey of elder care.
  • Avatar

    Arthur Scot Barthold
    ★★★★★
    9 months ago

    Everyone there was a pleasure to deal with . They were all so helpful and seemed to have my mother's best interest at heart . Our aide , Cynthia , was the sweetest woman and was a great help to my mother and a great companion as well. … More Thankfully mom has regained her strength and can get along by herself again . If we need help again , I would reach out to FirstLight again
  • Avatar

    Karen Rollins
    ★★★★★
    a year ago

    FirstLight has provided excellent care for my mom for one and a half years already. When my mom had a hospital stay and she needed additional hours of care, FirsLight acted immediately and was able to provide additional caregivers at short … More notice. I highly recommend them! 🙂
  • Avatar

    Fred Fontaine
    ★★★★★
    9 months ago

    Mateen who first visited my father to assess his situation was great, as was Sampson who came regularly to help him out. As he has gotten better we no longer need the services of FirstLight but definitely recommend the service!

Open quote

Client Reviews

We just started using FirstLight about a week ago. The aide they sent was phenomenal and my mom absolutely loved her…along with the other family members who are responsible for my moms care. We started care with another agency about 7 weeks prior and had such a challenging experience.

Boyd (the owner) is a kind person, and a soft spoken employer. He knows and listen to his employee and give advice to his staff. I personally recommend this agency.. Great job and keep it up.

First Light Took care of my father after a life threatening illness and extensive surgery at New York Presbyterian. My father spent 6 weeks in intensive care and 3 weeks in rehab before returning home. At home, he progressed from a wheelchair, to a walker, to a cane and gained back the strength and skill to take care of himself and my mother. First Light’s live-in caregiver was a perfect fit for my parents. The caregiver was invested in my father’s care and his goals. I never worried!

I am not a review writer, but I feel compelled to let others know who might also be afraid, anxious, and confused, that there is a provider of home care that is out there to help you through a most difficult time. Thank you, Boyd Lowry and the caregiver, and First Light Home Care. First Light delivered on its promise.

FirstLight was fantastic during my mother’s illness. They were able to assist my family despite being contacted last minute. We can not thank them enough for their help.

J. is our primary in home provider. She is an absolute angel. We believe J. has our Mom’s physical and emotional interest at heart. She cares for our Mom like she is a member of the family. We feel that J. is practically a member of the family. We feel so blessed to have J. caring for our Mom. Boyd has been extremely responsive whenever there has been a problem. We feel that the overall organization and service is well above average, and well above what we expected when we began with First Light.

She cares, Always prompt, Always concerned that everything is right. Very Happy.

They have my mother’s best interest in mind and they tried hard to get someone to her to the house no matter what. I was very pleased. Very well run; the contact I had was very personable, and they really tried to accommodate my needs.

I can’t say enough about FirstLight Home Care’s level of service starting from our initial meeting to dealing with the office staff and care givers. They listened! They provided everything they promised they would. When required they responded quickly and without question. They made this whole experience that much easier to deal with for my mother and for my family.

My mother and I were impressed by, and grateful for your very astute and helpful suggestions to improve the equipment that will enable safer transfers for my father.

I write to express my sincere thanks and appreciation for the 24/7 aide services provided by your employee, K.., for my mother. She helped my mom secure her medications, take showers, get dressed and prepared her meals with grace and compassion. My sisters, wife and I noted that she made my mother laugh on many occasions, something that hasn’t happened with other aides.

Dear FirstLight, Thank You for your help in caring for my mother. Boyd was stellar in stepping in where I had no knowledge of my mother’s final decline, informing me of the situation, and resolving something that could have been far uglier. He has seen a small slice of what was involved in my monitoring Gladys from a distance, and helped me through it. Thanks again.

I was very impressed with FirstLight’s staff, and the caregivers themselves seem to be extremely compassionate and capable. They are firm when they need to be and gentle when that is needed. I always get quick responses from the owner. If I leave a message, he always gets back to me quickly, even if it is the weekend.

I appreciate the caregivers. They are very professional and do exactly as I ask.

I appreciate that FirstLight Home Care seems very interested in my needs. They are concerned. The caregivers look great and act very professionally. They get to work. The people that FirstLight Home Care have sent me are perfect.

The caregiver is great and meeting my expectations and conversing with me. FirstLight Home Care has been able to handle all of my needs that I need met.

FirstLight Home Care caregivers brought me back from the dead. Their services are absolutely meeting my expectations.

Boyd, my service coordinator, came to my home with the caregiver before they started for an introduction and I really liked them. The thing that I appreciate the most about the care from FirstLight Home Care is that they have sent quality caregivers…most have had many years of experience. The caregiver helps the client to get out. It helps me to have respite time, free time for me.

They have someone there when I need them, even if it’s 5:30 am!

Any small problems that arise, they fix. They anticipate problems and provide a quick response.

I appreciate that FirstLight Home Care provides good caregivers who have shown their compassion by being with her in the hospital. I’m confident in the FirstLight Home Care office staff because they and the owner are always responsive and accessible. I would recommend FirstLight Home Care to somebody else because I’ve been extremely satisfied with their services.

“The service is reliable and it takes the pressure off the family.

FirstLight is caring and compassionate. They’ve been very helpful in going through the process with us. I’m seven hundred miles away and they’re working with me to keep me informed.

FirstLight Home Care really will send the right person who will help your loved one so much. I appreciate the caregiver that we have. She is excellent. Our caregiver speaks to her, has patience with her, hugs the client when it is needed and leaves the client alone when she needs to be alone.

My caregiver shows her care and concern for me through always being interested in me. It’s not just a job that she does when she is here, but she spends time talking to me, making things easier for me.

I appreciate that the caregivers have to be prompt in checking in with the office staff from my home phone. This ensures that the caregiver is on time. The caregiver does not wait for me to ask her to do something. She takes the duties upon herself to be completed without me having to ask.

I just wanted to send you a quick note to thank you for your help last weekend, and to say how pleased we all were with the excellent job that Jackie did under stressful circumstances. With both my brother and I being 5 hours away, she really went above and beyond both in her quick thinking as well as keeping us all in the loop via phone. She is a great asset to your company. Thanks again!

I feel like FirstLight has been more than what I expected, especially with my experiences with other agencies that were awful. When I need FirstLight or have a question, they are always there to give me good feedback. I couldn’t be happier with the care. I feel like I lucked out having FirstLight for home care and Jessica as a caregiver.

I would not hesitate to recommend FirstLight Home Care for primary or supplemental Care Giver Support. In my case I live out of state and it was important to find a local reputable provider that I could count on. My first meeting was very informative and no pressure. FirstLight made every effort to find Care Givers that worked well with my mother’s personality and needs. They were successful with three Care Givers that all exceeded my expectations in their work and genuine concern for her well being.

FirstLight is a wonderful company with fantastic staff. Taking care of an elderly loved one for the very first time is scary, heart wrenching and stressful. Boyd helped us through this very stressful time with caregivers that were extremely patient, kind and understanding. Mary Ann (and the entire staff) were terrific in not only helping our aging parents with placement of a caregiver, but also were helpful in assisting me through this difficult and emotional time.

The caregivers have helped me immensely. When you are going through a struggle like I am going through, you need some assistance. My caregivers put me before themselves and that means the world to me.

The caregivers pay attention to my wife and hold her hand. They talk to her and take care of her. FirstLight Home Care has taken a lot of pressure off of me.

I have dealt with one other agency before FirstLight Home Care, and they pale in comparison. The owner is extremely caring and effective. Boyd Lowry is outstanding, that is why I recommend them.

I have a lot of Facebook friends and I want to share FirstLight Home Care with all of them. I would put my reputation on the line for FirstLight Home Care.

Caring, reliable, concerned, experienced — we could not be happier with the service FirstLight has provided our family. They listen and treat each case individually so they can match the right caregiver to the specific need.

I think FirstLight is a great company and they really care about their families, clients and caregivers. I appreciate everything they do.

Dependable! Never question their abilities! I’ve had peace of mind ever since I chose them.

Helpful and cooperative with dedicated employees who do their best to care for their clients.

Leave us a Review Online:

Facebook ReviewsGoogle Reviews

FirstLight Home Care of Bergen County Strives to Achieve Service Excellence Every Day

Home Care Pulse logo

FirstLight® Home Care of Bergen County is proud to be recognized as a Home Care Pulse endorsed provider.

We are committed to collecting honest feedback and opinions from our clients and families and have set a new standard by cultivating a Culture of Care that drives industry-leading client satisfaction. We chose Home Care Pulse as our third-party survey partner because of the company’s dedication to innovation, quality and service excellence.

Secure Objective Feedback

Secure Objective Feedback

Vital feedback is gathered from our clients through monthly surveys.

Take Action

Take Action

Client feedback is used to improve, innovate and ensure we continually provide exceptional care.

Satisfaction scores are based on monthly client feedback. Individual FirstLight offices are eligible to qualify for Best of Home Care awards based on scores from clients in areas such as quality of care, responsiveness and overall satisfaction.