Skip to Content

Home Care
Reviews

What People Are Saying

Hear from some of our FirstLight clients and families about how we’ve made a difference in their lives. This will help you get a better sense about the quality of service you can expect from us for your loved one, and make an informed decision. Amongst a handful of home care agencies nationwide to receive the Best of Home Care – Provider of Choice Award, we are proud to be one of the highest rated home care agencies in the Greater Boston area.

FirstLight Home Care of Boston Northwest IconFirstLight Home Care of Boston Northwest

106 Main Street STE 3, Stoneham

4.8 25 reviews

  • Avatar

    rubybluedmc
    ★★★★★
    3 weeks ago

    FirstLight has exceeded my expectations for finding a new caregiver for my father. Girish met with us and not only really listened for what we needed, but engaged with my dad and gave me a sense of genuine care and concern for helping him, … More helping us. We really like our new caregiver and she too has exceeded our expectations. We're about 4-5 weeks in and I feel relief that my dad is in good hands, and we are in good hands – FirstLight continues to check in and make sure things are good. This can be a very difficult decision amongst a long list of things you have to figure out for care of a loved one but I feel FirstLight truly cares and really wants to help not only the person who needs the care but ensures the family feels comfortable and supported as well. I have recommended to another friend, and I would recommend to anyone – especially if you are hesitant, frantic and/or overwhelmed to get some help, it's worth a phone call or a visit with FirstLight.
  • Avatar

    pratiksha patel
    ★★★★★
    2 weeks ago

    Girish and his staff were excellent! My mom was in the hospital and I was given first light’s name and was impressed from the minute. I spoke with Girish. He was so kind and professional and knew exactly what I needed without even meeting … More my mom. He arranged for caregivers as soon as she was home and they were both excellent. My mom had not had full-time aids before and We were also pleased with both of the caregivers. Girish made this whole process so easy and he was always available and receptive to feedback.
  • Avatar

    Mark Medeiros
    ★★★★★
    a month ago

    I couldn’t be more grateful for the quality of care and the flexibility of First light. While I know they have many clients, they made me feel like I was their most important one, from Girish the CEO, to Saundra the care director, and … More Kasandra the home care provider. I am thrilled to have their services and continued commitment to consistent, high quality care.
  • Avatar

    Nimay Shah
    ★★★★★
    3 weeks ago

    Girish and his FirstLight team helped me out at a critical point, providing high quality home care for my mother so that I could be at the hospital with my wife, worry free. He was able to turn around a fully staffed 72-hour schedule at … More a couple of hours notice. All the care providers were great and attentive. Thank you, Girish!
  • Avatar

    Jeffrey Brenner
    ★★★★★
    2 months ago

    My sisters and I are very grateful for the care we received from FirstLight over the final year of our mother's life. Her dementia had gotten to the point where she was no longer able to manage by herself, even with multiple people … More coming in and out to help. If not for the agency, she would have needed to move to a 'facility' rather than being able to live out this year (except for the final 2 days) in her home of 30+ years, which she loved. Our caregiver (Kadian) was kind, patient, loving – everything we could have wished for (and more). The agency's owner (Girish) was always available for questions, and communication was great. The few times Kadian needed a break, they sent a reliable substitute. All in all, our having hired FirstLight made what could have been a really awful year for the whole family much more bearable, and we will be forever grateful for having found them.
  • Avatar

    Nathan Levin
    ★★★★★
    a year ago

    First Light Home Care of Boston Northwest has provided service above and beyond what my family and I expected for my mom's care. They are incredibly responsive, and have provided top notch care givers, who are all experienced and very … More attentive to my mom's needs. They have also been able to provide alternate caregivers whenever our existing person has been unable to work because of illness, even on very short notice. I can't recommend FirstLight enough, and thoroughly enjoy working with Girish, Saundra and Nikki who are all extremely professional in every dealing that I've had with them.
  • Avatar

    Gaylen Morgan
    ★★★★★
    9 months ago

    First Light provided excellent home care for me when I returned home after brain surgery. I was unstable and extremely dizzy. I had live in care for almost three weeks. The care giver they sent was exceptional; she helped me with everything … More and cheered me on during the first very difficult weeks after surgery. I felt safe and comforted and we also had fun! The owner, Girish Lahoty, is helpful, very knowledgable and responsive. I highly recommend First Light Homecare.
  • Avatar

    S k Animals
    ★★★★★
    a year ago

    My dad is a US Navy Vietnam Veteran who is bedridden and paralyzed. We have First Light Home Care services through VA funding. I was hesitant at first leaving my dad alone with an unknown care giver, he had been through so much with nursing … More home neglect, but when Ashley showed up at my home, she made it seem as if she was one of our family members. She is the best, very attentive, knowledgeable and so friendly and kind. All my fears disappeared and most of all my dad feels safe. He actually can't wait for Ashley to show up the next day. I am very grateful that we have Ashley and the entire administrative staff at FirstLight Home Care. They are all very nice and have quick response times for changes in schedules or any issues that come up.
  • Avatar

    Lori B. Ratchin
    ★★★★★
    9 months ago

    From dealing with the founder/owner Girish, to the actual person who provided care, Anarosa, I am beyond completely satisfied with my experience using FirstLight Home Care! They sincerely have WOWED me, and as someone with high standards, … More I am not easily impressed.
    Girish was personable and kind and caring to a degree quite surprising and refreshing for a business of any type. I even commented on that to him, and he explained that he had had enough of typical corporate culture. While maintaining professionalism gracefully, Anarosa was a warm and delightful and reassuring presence, willing to help with whatever I needed. At my suggestion, we listened to some music together, and she got me a little more current, ha. Conversely, I introduced her to some new (vegan) foods. Her conviviality made me feel more distant from the physical crisis that caused me to need the temporary homecare. Now THAT'S an accomplishment!
    At every interaction with both, they gave the impression that they were most concerned about MY needs, being flexible and gracious regarding all possible. In addition, each of them couldn't say enough positive things about each other, ie., employer and employee. Sadly, that is hardly a given in too many work environments, and also speaks much about this company's distinctly kind culture.
    Based on the extremely positive experience that I had, I frankly could not recommend them more highly! If you need home care assistance, it's hard for me to imagine someone not feeling as I have.
    Rachel (Lori) Ratchin

Open quote

Client Reviews

I have nothing but great things to say about First Light. It is difficult to decide when the time is right for in home services for a parent but in doing some research we narrowed it down to a few. Our decision was based on many positives including the quick response from Girish as he listened to what our needs were for my dad. There has been an open line of communication with the office and staff. The aide my father has has become part of our family. He looks forward to her coming daily. We couldn’t be more happy with this organization and recommended them highly.

We have been using First Light Home Care of Boston for the past two years. We have had nothing but a positive experience and feel fortunate that we use them. My husband David has Parkinson’s with dementia. His caregivers are kind, patient and professional. They treat him with care and respect. I am very grateful to have them in our lives.

My family has been very pleased with First Light, and with the great people they have sent to care for my mother (over 100 years old). First Light sets a high standard for their employees who are dedicated, responsible, and caring. They have engaged with my mother in ways that have contributed to her physical and cognitive health. They have also been there to deal effectively and compassionately with her bouts of physical discomfort. Response during the day is immediate as the director can be reached by text message or e-mail. We have tried other agencies and First Light is truly exceptional. We have been with them for over six months now.

I like that they have personalized the care to me. My caregiver is a caring and competent person and the office calls when there are any issues. I am totally satisfied.

Our family is so grateful to First Light Home Care of Boston Northwest. Our very first contact with First Light was to request a first emergency visit to our very ill sister at her home in Cambridge. The visit was made within 3 hours and feedback provided quickly thereafter. From that point forward, First Light has provided caring people to be at my sister’s home 24-7. When there were changes or questions, they were extremely flexible and communicative. Our family was all helping my sister remotely from different states, so First Light’s communication and attention were sorely needed and critical to her and our well being. The individual staff of First Light learned quickly how to respond to my sister, and demonstrated caring and patience even when things were tough.

I chose FirstLight Home Care because I used them in the past. FirstLight Home Care has made my experience positive by being dependable, reliable and personable.

Our entire family is so grateful for the amazing care FirstLight provided to our Dad. Everyone at First Light was amazing, so hard-working and they really cared about his well-being. Every member of the team did their part and we can’t thank them enough. Would definitely recommend them!

Our family is very pleased with the care my father in-law has received from the staff at FirstLight so far. The whole process has been smooth and seamless. From the very first contact with Girish, the president and owner to the home care director, Saundra, to the staff coming to the home, it has been worry-free. There are no surprises and we like that! Other agencies have not been this reliable unfortunately. My father in-law is very happy with the care is receiving and as nurses ourselves, it speaks volumes if we are happy too!

They are very reliable, so I’d certainly recommend them. My dad is not an easy person to take care of, but the caregiver has a lot of patience and is very likeable. She is also physically strong enough to handle him, so it works well.

My family and I met Girish just before my dad was released from rehab. Since we had never needed this type of service before, we were not sure what to expect. First Light has not disappointed. They assigned a small group of caregivers, and the ones they sent to care for dad have been awesome. They were adept at helping walk and transfer my dad, as he is getting stronger. But just as importantly, they have all been so kind and encouraging to my dad (and mom). They have made this difficult transition so much easier than we expected. If you are looking for home health care…..look no further.

If you need help caring for a family member, I highly recommend First Light. I had been taking care of my husband on my own for five years and decided I needed some extra help. After talking to various companies, I settled on First Light. They work with you to find the perfect fit of caregiver to patient. Through my husbands dementia, First Light provided me with excellent service. The caregivers assigned to my husband were compassionate, competent, and kind.

Caring, reliable, concerned, experienced — we could not be happier with the service FirstLight has provided our family. They listen and treat each case individually so they can match the right caregiver to the specific need.

I think FirstLight is a great company and they really care about their families, clients and caregivers. I appreciate everything they do.

Dependable! Never question their abilities! I’ve had peace of mind ever since I chose them.

Helpful and cooperative with dedicated employees who do their best to care for their clients.

Leave us a Review Online:

Facebook ReviewsGoogle Reviews

FirstLight Home Care of Boston Northwest Strives to Achieve Service Excellence Every Day

Home Care Pulse logo

FirstLight® Home Care of Boston Northwest is proud to be recognized as a Home Care Pulse endorsed provider.

We are committed to collecting honest feedback and opinions from our clients and families and have set a new standard by cultivating a Culture of Care that drives industry-leading client satisfaction. We chose Home Care Pulse as our third-party survey partner because of the company’s dedication to innovation, quality and service excellence.

Secure Objective Feedback

Secure Objective Feedback

Vital feedback is gathered from our clients through monthly surveys.

Take Action

Take Action

Client feedback is used to improve, innovate and ensure we continually provide exceptional care.

Satisfaction scores are based on monthly client feedback. Individual FirstLight offices are eligible to qualify for Best of Home Care awards based on scores from clients in areas such as quality of care, responsiveness and overall satisfaction.